Skip to content

The Purpose of the Program and How it Works

The vision is to have a long-term service and supports (LTSS) system that is person-centered and participant-directed, and that helps people at risk of institutionalization to continue to live at home and engage in community life. The VHA will increase access to HCBS to serve the growing demand of veterans who prefer independence at home over living in a nursing facility.

The VDC program provides veterans with opportunities to self-direct their LTSS and continue living independently at home. Eligible veterans manage their own flexible budgets, decide what mix of goods and services best meet their needs, and hire and supervise their own workers. Through an options counselor, the Aging and Disability Network Agency provides facilitated assessment and care/service planning, arranges fiscal management services, and provides ongoing counseling and support to veterans, their families, and caregivers.


Current Programs

Currently, 70 VA Medical Centers (VAMC) have made at least one veteran referral to the Veteran Directed Care Program (VDC).  There are 18 VAMCs who have not yet referred veterans to VDC and are denoted by an asterisk (*) below.

The Aging and Disability Network Agencies (ADNAs) listed below completed VA Readiness Reviews and have been approved as qualified providers for VDC.  ADNAs that subcontract to deliver components of VDC are listed as a sub-bullet under the ADNA who holds the Veteran Care Agreement. As new Readiness Reviews are approved, new VAMCs and ADNAs will be added to the list.

For more information on availability of VDC locally and for questions regarding eligibility, please contact your local VAMC. You can find your nearest VA location here:

Available in these counties

  • Kittitas County

    Ellensburg, Cle Elum, Kittitas, Roslyn, Thorp, Vantage, Snoqualmie Pass, and Ronald.

    Select Kittitas County
  • Douglas County

    East Wenatchee, Waterville, Rock Island, Bridgeport, and Mansfield

    Select Douglas County
  • Chelan County

    Wenatchee, Chelan, Leavenworth, Entiat, Cashmere, Manson, Chelan Falls, and Sunnyslope.

    Select Chelan County
  • Yakima County

    Yakima, Sunnyside, Selah, Union Gap, Toppenish, Wapato, Grandview, Naches, Zillah, Tieton, Cowiche, Mabton, Granger, White Swan, Harrah, Gleed, Outlook, Parker, and Buena.

    Select Yakima County
  • Grant County

    Moses Lake, Ephrata, Soap Lake, Quincy, Royal City, Coulee City, Mattawa, Grand Coulee, Electric City, Warden,George, Hartline, Krupp, Desert Aire, Cascade Valley, Moses Lake North, and Lakeview.

    Select Grant County
  • Okanogan County

    Fee for service

    Select Okanogan County
Website Design by Simplimation